## UNESCO Kalinga Prize for Popularization of Science

The UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is an award given by UNESCO for exceptional skill in presenting scientific ideas to lay people. It was created in 1951, following a donation from Hon'ble Shri Biju Patnaik, Chief Minister of Orissa and Founder President of the Kalinga Foundation Trust, Bhubaneswar.

The purpose of the Prize is to reward the efforts of a person who has had a disinguished career as a writer, editor, lecturer, radio/television programme director or film producer, which has enabled him/her to help interpret science, research and technology to the public. He/She is expected to be knowledgable of the role of science, technology and general research in the imporvement of the public welfare, the enrichment of the cultural heritage of nations and the solutios to the problem of humanity. Many past prize winners have been scientists, while others have been trained in journalism or have been educators or writers.

Each member state is entitled to nominate a single candidate, through its National Commission for UNESCO, on the recommendation of the national associations for the advancement of science or other science associations, or national associations of science writers or science journalists. The Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is administered by the Science Analysis and Policies Division of UNESCO.

Applications from individuals are not accepted.

The laureate is selected by the Director-General of UNESCO upon the recommendation of a five-member jury designated by him. The jury is designated by the Director-General on the basis of equitable geographical distribution.

The recipient receives US\$20,000 and a UNESCO Albert Einstein Silver Medal. The recipient is also awarded the Kalinga Chair, introduced by the Government of India in 2001 to mark the 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Kalinga Prize.

As holder of the Kalinga Chair, the winner travels to India for a period of two four weeks as the guest of the Government of India. The Chair also comprises a token honorarium of US\$ 5,000. The award ceremony takes place during the celebration of the World Science Day in Budapest as the guest of UNESCO and India in the alternate years.