No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 11.05.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: Constitution of Task Force on Development of Higher Mathematics for Applications

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Task Force on Development of Higher Mathematics for Applications. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Task Force are as under:

COMPOSITION

S.No.	Name & Designation	
1.	Dr. M.S. Narasimhan, Distinguished Associate, IISc., Bangalore	Chairman
2	Dr. T. Ramasami. Secretary, DST	Member
3	Dr. V.K. Saraswat, Secretary, DRDO & Scientific Adviser to RM, New Delhi	Member
4	Prof R. Balasubramanian, Director, IMSc, Chennai	Member
5	Prof G. Rangarajan, Deptt. of Mathematics, IISc., Bangalore	Member
6	Dr. Rajeev Karandikar, Distinguished Professor, IMSc, Chennai	Member
7	Dr V Balaji, Chennai Mathematical Institute, Chennai	Member
8	Prof Sujatha Ramadorai, TIFR, Mumbai	Member
9	Prof. Kapil Paranjape, IISER, Chandigarh	Member
10	Prof. Rajinder Bhatia, ISI, Delhi	Member
11	Dr. Manindra Agarwal, IIT, Kanpur	Member
12	Dr. K.B. Sinha, Distinguished Associate, IISc, Bangalore	Member
13	Prof. Amber Habib, Mathematical Science Foundation, Delhi	Member
14	Dr. Sanjeev Agarwal, Deptt. of Mathematics, Department of Science and Technology. Stephen's College, University of Delhi	Member

15	Dr. S.D. Adhikari, Professor, Harish Chandra Research	Member
	Institute, Allahabad.	
16	Dr. Vivek S Borkar, Professor, School of Technology and	Member
	Computer Science, TIFR, Bombay	
17	Dr. Mythily Ramaswamy, Dean, TIFR Centre for Applicable	Member
	Mathematics, P.Bag No. 6503, Yelahanka, Bangalore-560 055	
18	Dr. Ravi Kannan, Principal Researcher, Algorithms Research	Member
	Group, Microsoft Research Labs., Scientia, 196/36 2nd Main,	
	Sadashivnagar, Bangalore 560 080 India	
19	Dr Vijay Chandru, Chairman, Co-founder and CEO, Strand	Member
	Life Sciences, 5th Floor, Kirloskar Business Park, Bellary	
	Road, Hebbal, Bangalore 560024	
20	Prof. P. Seshu, CSIR Centre for Mathematical Modelling and	Member
	Computer Simulation (C-MMACS), Bangalore	
21		Member
	Prof. Dinesh Singh, Vice Chancellor, University of Delhi	Secretary
22	Dr. Praveen Arora, Scientist 'F', DST	Co-Convener

Terms of Reference

- 1. To review the current status of Higher Mathematics in India and suggest mechanisms and programmes for strengthening quality of education and research in both pure and applied areas of mathematics and enroll talent into carrers with academic and research system.
- 2. To suggest plans and schemes for improving the quality of teaching and research in Mathematics.
- 3. To suggest ways and means to integrate Mathematics and Computer Sciences R&D with application areas like Climate and Weather Modeling; General Mathematical Simulation; Space, Atomic Energy and Defence related requirements; Data encryption and other aspects of data security.
- 4. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 4. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Task Force in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Science and Technology, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 5. The report of the Task Force would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

1. Secretary, Department of Science and Technology

- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI³
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Administration (General-I) and (General –II), Planning Commission
- 11. Accounts-I Branch, Planning Commission
- 12. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 13. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)