No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

> Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 18.04.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: WG-10: Constitution of Working Group of the Department of Biotechnology

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group for the Department of Biotechnology. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

COMPOSITION

S. No.	Name & Designation	
1	Dr.M. K Bhan , Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, New Delhi	Chairman
2	Dr. P. Balaram, Director, IISc, Bangalore	Member
3	Dr. A. Surolia, Director, NII, New Delhi	Member
4	Dr. Virander S. Chauhan, Director, ICGEB, New Delhi	Member
5	Dr. Rajesh Gokhale, Director, CSIR-IGIB, New Delhi	Member
6	Prof. Seyed E. Hasnain, Former Vice-Chancellor, University of Hyderabad, Presently, at Deptt. Of Biotechnology, IIT, Delhi.	Member
7	Dr. K. Vijayraghavan, Director, NCBS, Bangalore	Member
8	Dr. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Biocon Limited, Bangalore	Member
9	Prof. Deepak Pental, Department of Genetics, University Of Delhi (South Campus),	Member
10	Dr. Rashmi H. Barbhaiya, CEO and Managing Director, Advinus Therapeutics Pvt. Ltd. Bangalore	Member
11	Prof. Akhilesh Tyagi, Director, NIPGR, New Delhi	Member

12	Dr. Shantikumar Nair, Director & Professor, Amrita Centre for Nanoscience, Ponnekkara, Kochi	Member
13	Dr. Krishna Ella, CMD, Bharat Biotech, Hyderabad	Member
14	Prof. Satyajit 'Jitu' Mayor, Senior Scientist, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore	Member
15	Dr.Arvind Kapur, CEO/MD/Director, Rasi Seeds Pvt. Ltd., Gurgaon	Member
16	Dr. Sanjay Singh, CEO, Gennova Biopharmaceuticals, Pune	Member
17	Dr. Arvind Lali, Reader in Chemical Engineering, IICT, University of Mumbai,	Member
18	Prof. Devang Khakhar, Director, IIT Mumbai	Member
29	Dr. Shekhar Mande, Senior Scientist, CDFD, Hyderabad	Member
20	Dr. Bharat B. Chattoo, Director, Centre for Genome Research, M.S.University of Baroda	Member
21	Dr. K.G. Ponniah, Director, Central Institute of Brackish- water Aquaculture (CIBA), Chennai	Member
22	Dr. Rakesh Bhatanagar, Professor, School of life Sciences, J.N.U, New Delhi	Member
23	Dr. K.Vijay Raghavan, Founder Director, Sathguru Management Consultants Pvt. Ltd., Hyderabad	Member
24	Nominee of CSIR	Member
25	Nominee of ICAR	Member
26	Nominee of ICMR	Member
27	Nominee of DST	Member
28	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission or his Nominee	Member
29	Financial Advisor, DBT	Member
30	Dr. S.R.Rao, Adviser, Department of Biotechnology, New Delhi,	Member Secretary

Terms of Reference

- 1. To review and assess the performance and role of the Department at the end of the Eleventh Five Year Plan. Identify priorities of the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan and suggest measures including policy initiatives for enabling India to emerge as a major global technological power by 2025
- 2. To suggest plan programmes for the Department by adopting a ZBB approach and keeping in view the priorities and goals for the Twelfth Five Year Plan as well as the agenda for the Decade of Innovations during 2010-20.
- 3. To define deliverables as well as goals for the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan period as well as Annual Plans, both in terms of tangible and non-

tangible outputs and formulate guidelines for deployment of resources for relating inputs to the specified goals

- 4. To suggest an optimum outlay for the Department, comprising of the on-going commitment and new programmes proposed to be undertaken.
- 5. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 6. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Biotechnology, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 7. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Biotechnology
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI^3
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)