No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 18.04.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: WG-11: Constitution of Working Group of the Department of Science and Technology

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group for the Department of Science and Technology. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

COMPOSITION

S. No.	Name & Designation	
1	Dr. T. Ramasami, Secretary, DST - Chairman	Chairman
2	Dr. Ajay K Sood, President, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore	Member
3	Dr. M. Barma, Director, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai	Member
4	Prof. P. Balaram, Director, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore	Member
5	Dr. E.D. Jemmis, Director, IISER, Thiruvananthapuram	Member
6	Prof. Dinesh Singh, Vice Chancellor, Delhi University, Delhi	Member
7	Ms. Naina Lal Kidwai, Chairperson HSBC	Member
8	Mrs. Chanda Kochhar, Managing Director & CEO, ICICI Bank Ltd., Mumbai	Member
9	Dr. C. V. Natraj, 120, Adarsh Vista/ Basavanagara, Banglore-560 037	Member
10	Prof. Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri, Vice-Chancellor, Tezpur University, Sonitpur, Assam	Member
11	Professor Devang V. Khakhar, Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai	Member

12	Prof. L S Shashidhara, Professor and Coordinator, Biology, IISER, Pune	Member
13	Prof. Indranil Manna, Director, Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute (CGCRI), Kolkata	Member
14	Dr. Bimal K Roy, Director, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata	Member
15	Prof. Govind Swarup, National Centre for Radio Astrophysics (NCRA), Pune	Member
16	Shri. K. Ahmed, Director, Indian Institute of Entrepreneurship, Guwahati	Member
17	Dr. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, Professor, Deptt. Of Electrical Engineering, IIT Madras	Member
18	Dr. S. Basheer, Kolkata	Member
29	Prof. Milan K Sanyal, Director, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkatta	Member
20	Shri Chandrashekhar Dasgupta, TERI, New Delhi	Member
21	Dr. Neelima Jerath, Executive Director, PSCST, Chandigarh	Member
22	Dr. Kiran Karnik, Q2A, Hauz Khas Enclave, New Delhi-16	Member
23	Dr. B. Purnaiah, Head, International Studies Division, Department of Atomic Energy, Anushakti Bhawan, CSM Marg, Mumbai.	Member
24	Dr. Anil K Gupta, Director, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun.	Member
25	Representatives of CII	Member
26	Representatives of FICCI	Member
27	Representatives of ASSOCHAM	Member
38	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission or his Nominee	Member
29	Financial Advisor, DST	Member
30	Dr. Neeraj Sharma, Adviser, DST	Member Secretary

Terms of Reference

- 1. To review and assess the performance and role of the Department at the end of the Eleventh Five Year Plan. Identify priorities of the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan and suggest measures including policy initiatives for enabling India to emerge as a major global technological power by 2025
- 2. To suggest plan programmes for the Department by adopting a ZBB approach and keeping in view the priorities and goals for the Twelfth Five Year Plan as well as the agenda for the Decade of Innovations during 2010-20.

- 3. To define deliverables as well as goals for the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan period as well as Annual Plans, both in terms of tangible and nontangible outputs and formulate guidelines for deployment of resources for relating inputs to the specified goals
- 4. To suggest an optimum outlay for the Department, comprising of the on-going commitment and new programmes proposed to be undertaken.
- 5. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 6. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Science and Technology, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 7. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Science and Technology
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI³
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)