No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 18.04.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: WG-13: Constitution of Working Group of the Department of Atomic Energy (R&D Sector)

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group for the Department of Atomic Energy (R&D Sector). The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

COMPOSITION

S.No.	Name & Designation	
1.	Dr. Srikumar Banerjee, Secretary, Dept. of Atomic Energy, Mumbai	Chairman
2.	Dr. R.K. Sinha, Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai	Member
3.	Shri S.S. Bajaj, Chairman, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, Niyamak Bhavan, Mumbai	Member
4.	Chairman, Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences, Dept.of Atomic Energy, Mumbai	Member
5.	Director UGC – DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, University Branch, Indore	Member
6.	Prof. M.S. Ananth, Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, Chennai	Member
7.	Dr R.B. Grover, Principal Adviser, Department of Atomic Energy, Mumbai	Member
8.	Prof. Devang Khakhar, Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, Mumbai	Member
9.	Prof. G.D. Yadav, Director, Institute of Chemical Technology, Bombay, Mumbai	Member
10.	Director, Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam	Member
11.	Director, Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai	Member
12.	Director, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai	Member
13.	Director, Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore	Member
14.	Director, Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC), Kolkata	Member
15.	Joint Secretary (R&D), Department of Atomic Energy,	Member

	Mumbai	
16	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission or his Nominee	Member
17.	Representative, Dept. of Science & Technology	Member
18.	Representative, Min. of Information & Technology	Member
19.	Representative of ICMR	Member
20.	Representative of CSIR	Member
21.	Representative of UGC	Member
22.	Shri S. Gangotra, Member, Strategic Planning Group, Department of Atomic Energy, Mumbai	Member Secretary

Terms of Reference

- 1. To review and assess the performance and role of the Department at the end of the Eleventh Five Year Plan. Identify priorities of the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan and suggest measures including policy initiatives for enabling India to emerge as a major global technological power by 2025
- 2. To suggest plan programmes for the Department (R&D Sector) by adopting a ZBB approach and keeping in view the priorities and goals for the Twelfth Five Year Plan as well as the agenda for the Decade of Innovations during 2010-20.
- 3. To define deliverables as well as goals for the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan period as well as Annual Plans, both in terms of tangible and non-tangible outputs and formulate guidelines for deployment of resources for relating inputs to the specified goals
- 4. To suggest an optimum outlay for the Department, comprising of the on-going commitment and new programmes proposed to be undertaken.
- 5. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 6. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Atomic Energy, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 7. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI³

- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)