No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 18.04.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: WG-14: Constitution of Working Group of the Department of Space

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group for the Department of Space. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

COMPOSITION

S.No.	Name & Designation	
1.	Dr K Radhakrishnan, Secretary, DOS	Chairman
2.	Secretary, Dept of Agriculture and Co-operation, Ministry of Agriculture, New Delhi	Member
3.	Secretary, Department of Border Management, Ministry of Home Affairs	Member
4.	Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences, New Delhi	Member
5.	Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forests,	Member
6.	Secretary, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting	Member
7.	Secretary, Department of Information & Technology	Member
8.	Secretary, Department of Land Resources, Ministry of Rural Development, New Delhi.	Member
9.	Secretary, National Disaster Management Authority, Ministry of Home Affairs, New Delhi.	Member
10.	Secretary, Department of Science and Technology	Member
11.	Secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research/ Director General, Council of Scientific &	Member
12.	Secretary, Department of Telecommunications.	Member
13.	Director-General, IMD, New Delhi.	Member
14.	Director, Town and Country Planning Organisation, New	Member
15.	Planning Advisor, NEC, Shillong.	Member
16.	Surveyor-General, SOI, Dehradun.	Member

17.	Chairman, Central Water Commission, New Delhi.	Member
18.	Additional Director General, Forests, Ministry of Environment and Forests, New Delhi.	Member
19.	Chief Engineer, AIR, New Delhi.	Member
20.	Chief Engineer, DD, New Delhi.	Member
21.	Joint Secretary, HRD, New Delhi.	Member
22.	Additional Secretary, Department of Health and Family Welfare, New Delhi.	Member
23.	Dr P S Goel, Honorary Distinguished Professor, ISRO	Member
24.	Dr B N Suresh, Vikram Sarabhai Distinguished Professor, ISRO	Member
25.	Dr T K Alex, Director, ISRO Satellite Centre, Bangalore	Member
26.	Dr R R Navalgund, Director, Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad	Member
27.	Shri P S Veeraraghavan, Director, Vikram Sarabhai, Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram	Member
28.	Prof. J N Goswami, Director, PRL, DOS, Ahmedabad	Member
29.	Prof. M S Ananth, Director, IIT, Chennai	Member
30.	Prof R S Deshpande, Director, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bangalore	Member
31.	Prof. J. Srinivasan, Professor, Centre for Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.	Member
32.	Prof. P Venkata Rangan, VC, Amrita Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore	Member
33.	Chairman and Managing Director, HAL, Bangalore.	Member
34.	Shri. J.D. Patil, Executive Vice president-Defense & Aerospace, Larsen & Toubro Ltd.	Member
35.	Shri. S.M. Vaidya, Vice President & Business Head, Godrej Precision Systems Ltd.	Member
36.	Dr Ajay Parida, Executive Director, MSSRF, Chennai.	Member
37.	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission, or his Nominee	Member
38.	Dr V S Hegde, Scientific Secretary, ISRO	Member- Secretary

Terms of Reference

1. To review and assess the performance and role of the Department at the end of the Eleventh Five Year Plan. Identify priorities of the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan and suggest measures including policy initiatives for enabling India to emerge as a major global technological power by 2025

- 2. To suggest plan programmes for the Department by adopting a ZBB approach and keeping in view the priorities and goals for the Twelfth Five Year Plan as well as the agenda for the Decade of Innovations during 2010-20.
- 3. To define deliverables as well as goals for the Department for the Twelfth Five Year Plan period as well as Annual Plans, both in terms of tangible and non-tangible outputs and formulate guidelines for deployment of resources for relating inputs to the specified goals
- 4. To suggest an optimum outlay for the Department, comprising of the on-going commitment and new programmes proposed to be undertaken.
- 5. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 6. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Space, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 7. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Space
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI³
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)