No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 11.05.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: Constitution of Task Force on Establishment of Inter Institutional and Inter-University Centres on specific Areas

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Task Force on Establishment of Inter Institutional and Inter-University Centres on specific Areas. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Task Force are as under:

COMPOSITION

S.No.	Name & Designation	
1.	Dr. V.S. Ramamurthy, Former Secretary, DST, Presently Director, NIAS, Bangalore.	Chairman
2	Dr. P. Chaddah, Director, UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore	Member
3	Dr. Amit Roy, Director, Inter University Accelerator Centre, Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, Near Vasant Kunj, Post Box No. 10502, New Delhi -110 067,	Member
4.	Dr. G.K. Mehta, Distinguished Honorary Professor, Deptt. of Physics, IIT, Kanpur	Member
5.	Prof. N.Sathyamurthy, Director, IISER (Mohali), MGSIPAP Complex, Sector 26 Chandigarh 160 019	Member
6	Prof. Shridhar R. Gadre, Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Pune, Pune-413 007	Member
7	Dr Balram Bhargava, Department of Cardiology, AIIMS, New Delhi.	Member
8	Dr Alok Ray, Department of Bioengineering, IIT, Delhi	Member
9	Dr S. Ramaswamy, Institute of Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, National Centre for Biological Sciences, GKVK, Bellary Road, Bangalore 560065,	Member
10	Dr S. Natesh, Senior Advisor (Scientist- H), DBT, New Delhi	Member

11	Prof. B.N. Goswami, Director, IITM, Pune	Member
12	Dr. Satish R. Shetye, Director, NIO, Goa	Member
13	Prof. Dinesh Singh, Vice Chancellor, University of Delhi.	Member
14	Prof. Mohan Kumar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore	Member
15	Prof. N. Mukunda, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore	Member
16	Prof Charusita Chakrabarti, IIT, Delhi	Member
17	Prof. Partha Majumdar, Director NIBMG	Member
18	Dr. P. Prakash, Addl. Secretary, UGC, New Delhi	Member
19	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission, or his nominee	Member
20	Shri Pawan Aggarwal, Adviser (Education), Planning Commission	Member
21	Dr. Ajit Kembhavi, Director, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Post Bag,4,Ganeshkhind, Pune University Campus, Pune 411 007	Member Secretary

Terms of Reference

- 1. To review the performance of existing Inter University Centres (IUCs) in strengthening university research system in the country and creating excellence and providing access to major research facilities to researchers working in Indian Universities in inter-disciplinary areas of Science and Technology.
- 2. Based on the experience gained from the functioning of the existing IUCs, examine the need for replicating this concept and establishing Inter Institutional and Inter-University Centres in newer areas of Science and Technology to bring about functional connectivity across universities and domain institutions.
- 3. Identify and prioritize specific inter-disciplinary areas of Science and technology which call for establishments of such Inter Institutional and Inter-University Centres during the Twelfth Five Year Plan.
- 4. To suggest modalities of fostering durable partnerships in such centres.
- 5. To suggest appropriate governance structures for such Inter Institutional and Inter-University Centres
- 6. Recommend suitable mechanism(s) to ensure that such centres are sustainable over long periods of time
- 7. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 8. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Task Force in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by IUCAA, Pune, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.

9. The report of the Task Force would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Director, Inter University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI^3
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Administration (General-I) and (General -II), Planning Commission
- 11. Accounts-I Branch, Planning Commission
- 12. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 13. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)