No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 18.04.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: WG-2: Constitution of Working Group on Enrichment of Knowledgebase

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group on Enrichment of Knowledgebase. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

Composition

S. No.	Name & Designation	
1	Prof. P Balaram, Director, IISc, Bangalore	Chairman
2	Dr. A.K. Sharma, President, NASc, Allahabad.	Member
3	Dr. Krishan Lal, President, INSA, New Delhi	Member
4	Dr. A.K. Sood, President, IASc, Bangalore	Member
5	Prof. Devang V. Khakhar, Director, IIT, Mumbai	Member
6	Prof. M Barma, Director, TIFR, Mumbai	Member
7	Dr. Rajesh S. Gokhale, Director, IGIB, New Delhi	Member
8	Dr. Chetan E. Chitnis, Principal Investigator, ICGEB, Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi.	Member
9	Dr. Viswanathan Bhaskar, School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad	Member
10	Dr. Ashutosh Sharma, Professor, Chemical Engineering, IIT, Kanpur	Member
11	Prof. A. Khurana, Deptt. Of Molecular Biology, Delhi University South Campus, New Delhi	Member
12	Dr. Abhishek Dhar, Deptt. Of Theoretical Physics, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore	Member
13	Professor Sibaji Raha, Bose Research Institute, Kolkata	
14	Dr R Brakaspathy, Adviser, DST, New Delhi	Member Secretary

Terms of Reference

- 1. To identify emerging areas of science and suggest ways to strengthen basic research with the goal of substantially improving the relative position of India in the global science landscape.
- 2. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 3. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Science and Technology, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 4. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011.

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Science and Technology
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI³
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)