## No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001 Dated 11.05.2011

### **OFFICE MEMORANDUM**

# Subject: Constitution of Task Force on Synthetic and System Biology Resource Network (SSBRN)

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5<sup>th</sup> April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Task Force on Synthetic and System Biology Resource Network. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Task Force are as under:

#### **COMPOSITION**

S. No	Name & Designation	
1.	Dr. S.K. Brahmachari, Secretary, DSIR and DG-CSIR	Chairman
2.	Dr. M.K. Bhan, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology or his nominee,	Member
3.	Dr. T. Ramasami, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology or his nominee	Member
4.	Dr. V. M. Katoch, Secretary, Department of Health Research and Director General, Indian Council of Medial Research, or his nominee	Member
5.	Dr. K.V.S. Rao, Associate Scientist and Group Leader Immunology Division, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi	Member
6.	Prof. Siddhartha Roy, Director, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata	Member
7.	Dr. Rajesh Gokhale, Director, CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, New Delhi	Member
8.	Prof. Jayesh Bellare, Department of Chemical Engineering I.I.T. Bombay, Powai	Member
9	Dr. Nagesuma Chandra, Supercomputer Education and Research Centre, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore	Member

10	Dr. Mukund Thattai, National Center for Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, GKVK, Bellary Road, Bangalore	Member
11	Dr. Soumen Roy, Bose Institute, Kolkata	Member
12	Prof. P. Seshu, CSIR Centre for Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulation (C-MMACS), Bangalore	Member
13	Prof. Suman Chakraborty, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur	Member
14	Dr. Beena Pillai, Scientist, CSIR-IGIB Extension Centre, Delhi	Member Secretary

#### **Terms of Reference**

- 1. To develop a comprehensive framework and road map for synthetic and systems biology research and development activities in the country;
- 2. To plan appropriate human resource development both in scale and quality in these areas to attain a leadership position.
- 3. To create a suitable institutional structure to pursue the R&D activities in the domain and indicate implementation plan;
- 4. To put in place an appropriate networking for the purpose and suggest resource outlay for the identified effort.
- 5. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 6. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Task Force in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by CSIR as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 7. The report of the Task Force would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

( R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

#### Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research and DG-CSIR
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Task Force
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI<sup>3</sup>
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission

- 10. Administration (General-I) and (General -II), Planning Commission
- 11. Accounts-I Branch, Planning Commission
- 12. Information Officer, Planning Commission13. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)