No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 18.04.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: WG-4: Constitution of Working Group on promoting Public Private Partnership and Public-People Partnerships with Socio-economic Ministries/Departments and States for technology Deployment

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group on promoting Public Private Partnership and Public-People Partnerships with Socio-economic Ministries/Departments and States for technology deployment. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

S. No.	Name & Designation	
1	Dr. T. Ramasami, Secretary, DST, New Delhi	Chairman
2	Shri B.P Rao, CMD, BHEL, New Delhi	Member
3	Dr. Anji Reddy, Chairman of the Board, Dr. Reddy Laboratories, Ltd.,Hyderabad	Member
4	Shri Jamshyd Godrej, Chairman & Managing Director, Godrej Boyce Ltd. Mumbai	Member
5	Dr. CTS Nair, Executive Vice President, Kerala State Council for Science, Technology & Environment, Thiruvananthapuram	Member
6	Shri Anjan Das, Sr. Director, CII, New Delhi	Member
7	Dr. Rajiv Kumar, Director General, FICICI, New Delhi	Member
8	Dr. Renu Swaroop, Adviser, DBT, New Delhi	Member
9	Dr. Neelima Jerath, Executive Director, Punjab CST, Chandigarh	Member
10	Prof. Promod K. Verma, Director General, MPCST, Bhopal	Member
11	Shri M.N. Vidyashankar, Principal Secretary, IT, BT and S&T, Karnataka, Bangalore	Member
12	Dr. V.K. Dhadwal, Associate Director, National Remote Sensing Centre, Hyderabad.	Member
13	Representative of Secretary, Ministry of Power	Member
14	Representative of Secretary, Department of Heavy Industry	Member
15	Representative of Secretary, Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals	Member
16	Representative of Secretary, Ministry of Mines	Member

Composition

17	Representative of Secretary, Ministry of Micro, Small &	Member
	Medium Enterprises	
18	Representative of Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture	Member
19	Representative of Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas	Member
20	Representative of Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources	Member
21	Representative of Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development	Member
22	Representative of Secretary, Ministry of Steel	Member
23	Shri Ram Mohan Mishra, Commissioner & Secretary, S&T and Planning, Govt. of Meghalaya	Member
24	Dr. V.V. Sadamate, Adviser (Agriculture), Planning Commission or Nominee	Member
25	Dr. (Mrs) Renu Parmar, Adviser (Industry), Planning Commission or Nominee	Member
26	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission or Nominee	Member
27	Shri Rajiv Kumar Tayal, Adviser, DST, New Delhi	Member Secretary

Terms of Reference

- 1. To suggest policy measures, institutional mechanisms/strategies for correcting asymmetries in the knowledge domain of R&D and promoting Public and Private Partnerships such that share of Private : Public funds into R&D reaches near 1:1 by the end of Twelfth Five Year Plan.
- 2. To suggest means of catalyzing technology partnership between the Socio-economic Ministries/Departments, States and the Central S&T agencies for innovative deployment of Technological solutions for socially relevant challenges.
- 3. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 4. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Science and Technology, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 5. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Science and Technology
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI^3
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)

- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)