No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 15.04.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: WG-6: Constitution of Working Group on PAN India S&T Missions

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group on PAN India S&T Missions. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

Composition

S. No.	Name & Designation	
1	Professor P Rama Rao, Former Secretary, DST (Flat No. 301, Naimisam, Plot No. 22, Srinagar Colony, Hyderabad)	Chairman
2	Dr. T. Ramasami, Secretary, DST, New Delhi	Member
3	Dr. M.K. Bhan, Secretary, DBT, New Delhi	Member
4	Prof. Samir K. Brahmachari, Secretary, DSIR and DG-CSIR, New Delhi	Member
5	Dr. Sri Kumar Banerjee, Secretary, DAE, Mumbai	Member
6	Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, Secretary, DOS, Bangalore	Member
7	Dr. Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, MoES, New Delhi	Member
8	Dr. S. Ayyapan, Secretary, DARE and DG-ICAR, New Delhi	Member
9	Dr. V.M. Katoch, Secretary, DHR and DG-ICMR, New Delhi	Member
10	Prof. R.P. Dahiya, Deptt. of Energy Studies, IIT, Delhi	Member
11	Prof. G.D. Yadav, Director, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai	Member
12	Dr. S.V. Kamat, Scientist 'G', DMRL, Hyderabad, Post Office Kanchan Bagh, Hyderabad-500058	Member
13	Dr. Rudra Pratap, Associate Professor, IISc, Bangalore	Member
14	Dr. Nikhil Tandon, Professor, Deptt. of Endocrinology and Metabolism, AIIMS, New Delhi	Member
15	Dr. K.A. Sekhar, CC R&D (MS & LIC), DRDO, New Delhi	Member
16	Secretary, or his nominee, Department of Agriculture & Cooperation	Member
17	Secretary, or his nominee, Ministry of Water Resources	Member

18	Secretary, or his nominee, Ministry of Health & Family	Member
	Welfare,	
19	Secretary, or his nominee, Ministry of Environment & Forests	Member
20	Secretary, or his nominee, Department of Heavy Industry	Member
21	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission or	Member
	his Nominee	
22	Representative of the Director General, CII	Member
23	Dr. B. Harigopal, Adviser, DST	Member
		Secretary

Terms of Reference

- 1. To identify and design PAN India missions on development and deployment of technologies for gaining food, water, nutrition, health, environment and energy security and recommend appropriate proportioning of resources among the PAN India and agency initiatives of Twelfth Five Year Plan programmes.
- 2. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 3. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Science and Technology, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 4. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta)
Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Science and Technology
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI³
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)