No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 15.04.2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: WG-7: Constitution of Working Group on S&T for the vulnerable section of the Society

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5th April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group on S&T for the vulnerable section of the Society. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

Composition

S. No.	Name & Designation	
1	Dr. Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, MoES, New Delhi	Chairman
2	Dr. R.S.Deshpande, Director, Institute of Social and Economic Change, Bangalore	Member
3	Dr. P K Ghosh, Director, CSMCRI, Bhavnagar	Member
4	Dr. PG Rao, Director, NEIST, Jorhat	Member
5	Prof. A Jhunjhunwala, Deptt. of Electrical Engineering, IIT, Madras, Chennai	Member
6	Dr. Anil Gupta, Professor, IIM-Ahmedabad and Chief of NIF	Member
7	Shri G.B. Panda, Sr. Adviser, Planning Commission	Member
8	Dr. George John, Adviser, DBT, New Delhi	Member
9	Dr. S.K. Das, Adviser, MoES, New Delhi	Member
10	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission or his Nominee	Member
11	Dr. Vinita Sharma, Adviser, DST, New Delhi	Member Convener
12	Dr. (Mrs) Parvinder Maini, Scientist-F, Ministry of Earth Sciences	Co-Convener

Terms of Reference

- 1. To suggest special S&T intervention programmes directed towards the upliftment of deprived and weaker sections of society including women, SC/ST, physically challenged and differently abled people.
- 2. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 3. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Science and Technology, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 4. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Science and Technology
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI³
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)