# No. 12016/3/2011-S&T Government of India Planning Commission Science and Technology Division

Yojana Bhawan, Sanasd Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 18.04.2011

#### **OFFICE MEMORANDUM**

# Subject: WG-8: Constitution of Working Group on Mega Science and Global Alliances

The Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan, during its first meeting held on 5<sup>th</sup> April, 2011 under the Chairmanship of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Member (Science). Planning Commission has decided to constitute a Working Group on Mega Science and Global Alliances. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Working group are as under:

## Composition

S. No.	Name & Designation	
1	Dr. Sri Kumar Banerjee, Secretary, DAE and Chairman, AEC	Chairman
2	Dr Baldev Raj, Director, IGCAR, Kalpakkam	Member
3.	Representatives of Secretary, Department of Space, Bangalore	Member
4.	Representative of Secretary, Deptt. of Defence Research & SA to RM	Member
5	Representatives of Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences	Member
6	Representatives of Secretary, Department of Science and Technology	Member
7	Representatives of Secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research and DG-CSIR	Member
8	Representatives of Secretary, Department of Biotechnology	Member
9	Dr. Arabinda Mitra, Executive Director, IUSSTF, New Delhi	Member
10	Dr. A. Amudeshwari, Director, Indo-French Centre, New Delhi.	Member
11	Shri A.K. Verma, Adviser (S&T), Planning Commission or his Nominee	Member
12	Representative of the Director General, CII	Member
13	Dr. Praveer Asthana, Adviser, DST, New Delhi	Member

14	Dr. B. Purnaiah, Head, International Studies Division,	Member
	Department of Atomic Energy, Anushakti Bhawan, CSM	Secretary
	Marg, Mumbai.	

#### **Terms of Reference**

- 1. To suggest areas of International Cooperation in the field of Science and Technology for mutual advantages.
- 2. To suggest measures for establishment of major international collaborative research facilities in the country for attracting the international scientific community to work in India.
- 3. The Chairman may co-opt any other member.
- 4. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of this Working Group in respect of Official Members would be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. In respect of Non-Official Members, the expenditure would be met by the Department of Atomic Energy, as admissible to class-I officers of the Government of India.
- 5. The report of the Working Group would be submitted to the Steering Committee on the S&T for the formulation of Twelfth Five Year Plan by 15th July, 2011

( R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)

### Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy
- 2. Chairman, all Members and Member-Secretary of the Working Group
- 3. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Adviser to PM on PI<sup>3</sup>
- 5. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 6. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 7. PS to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 8. All Principal Advisers/Sr. Advisers/Advisers/HODs, Planning Commission
- 9. Director(PC), Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(R.K. Gupta) Joint Adviser (S&T)