Grassroots Innovators spotted & supported by NIF receive Padma Awards

Gandhinagar, India: 26th **January, 2019:** The National Innovation Foundation – India (NIF) extends heartfelt congratulations to Grassroots Innovators Shri Jagdish Prasad Parikh, Shri Uddhab Kumar Bharali and Shri Vallabhbhai Vasrambhai Marvaniya on being recognized with the Padma Shri, one of the highest civilian Awards of the country.

The Government of Indiaannounced Padma Awards 2019 for various disciplines / fields of activities. The list comprises of 94 Padma Shri Awards amongst which following 3 Grassroots Innovators are recognized.

Shri Jagdish Prasad Parikh has been recognized with the Padma Awards under the Others - Agriculture category. Shri Parikh is a recipient of 1st National Grassroots Innovation Awards (2001) for his innovation "Ajitgarh Selection - a new Cauliflower variety". NIF has conducted validation of the variety at Jaipur. NIF has submitted the application (REG/2015/209) for registration of the variety under PPV&FR Act 2001 and also conducted on farm trials at farmers' field of Gujarat, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh.

Shri Uddhab Kumar Bharali has been recognized with the Padma Awards under the Science & Engineering -Grassroots Innovation category. Shri Bharali a recipient of 5th National Grassroots Innovation Awards (2009) for his innovations "Pomegranate deseeder, Arecanut peeler and Bamboo splitting machine". NIF has provided support in terms of value addition, business development and dissemination activities and also filed patent for his various technologies in the name of the innovator. MVIF (Micro Venture Innovation Fund) support was also extended to the innovator for commercialization, product development, trial marketing and market research support.

Shri Vallabhbhai Vasrambhai Marvaniyahas been recognized with the Padma Awards under the Others - Agriculturecategory. ShriMarvaniya is a recipient of 9th National Grassroots Innovation Awards (2017) for his innovation "Madhuvan Gajar - Improved Carrot Variety". NIF has conducted validation of the variety at Durgapura and also carried out biochemical profiling at Anand. Multilocation trials at Farmers field were carried out in 5 states. An application of the variety for registration under PPV&FR act, 2001, New Delhi was also submitted. For cultivation, seed production and marketing of the variety a financial support was extended under the MVIF (Micro Venture Innovation Fund) scheme.

The National Innovation Foundation – India (NIF), an autonomous body of the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, has been actively engaged in promoting creativity and innovation in our society. NIF - India has taken major initiatives to serve the knowledge-rich common man of the country. It is committed to making India innovative by documenting, adding value, protecting the intellectual property rights (IPR) of the contemporary unaided technological innovators as well as of outstanding traditional knowledge-holders and disseminating their innovations on commercial and non-commercial basis.

For further information, the following may be contacted:

Dr. Vipin Kumar Director and Chief Innovation Officer National Innovation Foundation-India, Autonomous Body of Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India Grambharti, Mahudi Road, Gandhinagar-382650 INDIA

Phone: +91 2764 261131, 32, 38, 39; Fax: +91 2239167115;

www.nif.org.in

Email: director@nifindia.org

Shri Jagdish Prasad Parikh (Rajasthan)



Shri Jagdish Prasad Parikh demonstrating his innovation - *Ajitgarh Selection - a Cauliflower variety* before Smt Pratibha Devisingh Patil, Hon'ble former President of India at the National Exhibition of Grassroots Innovations organized by NIF



Shri Jagdish Prasad Parikh demonstrating his innovation - *Ajitgarh Selection - a Cauliflower variety* before Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, Hon'ble former President of India at the National Exhibition of Grassroots Innovations organized by NIF



Shri Jagdish Prasad Parikh is a recipient of 1st National Grassroots Innovation Awards (2001) for his innovation "Ajitgarh Selection - a Cauliflower variety"

Shri Uddhab Kumar Bharali (Assam)



Shri Uddhab Kumar Bharali was conferred with 5th National Grassroots Innovation Awards at the hands of Smt Pratibha Devisingh Patil, then Hon'ble President of India in the year 2009



Shri Uddhab Kumar Bharali, a serial innovator demonstrating his innovations before Smt Pratibha Devisingh Patil, Hon'ble former President of India at the National Exhibition of Grassroots Innovations organized by NIF

Shri Vallabhbhai Vasrambhai Marvaniya (Gujarat)



Shri Vallabhbhai Vasrambhai Marvaniya along with his innovative plant variety - Madhuvan Gajar - Improved Carrot Variety. He is a recipient of 9th National Grassroots Innovation Awards (2017)