Professor CNR Rao receives Prof. M G K Menon Memorial Award

The National Academy of Sciences (NASI) honoured Professor CNR Rao with the M G K Memorial Award, an annual award which recognizes an eminent scientist for his noteworthy contribution in the field of science.

NASI organized the Prof. M G K Menon Memorial Award Function at Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore on November 15, 2019, as part of its science promotion and recognition of scientists. All the Fellows of the Academy greatly appreciated the dedication and commitment of two great stalwarts in science namely Prof. MGK Menon and Prof. CNR Rao.



Delivering the Prof. MGK Menon Memorial Award Lecture on the occasion, Bharat Ratna Prof. CNR Rao said that our glorious scholarly tradition of science should be improved day by day to compete with the advancements in science in the future. Citing several celebrated examples of Indian science and scientists such as Prof. C V Raman, Prof. Satish Dhawan and Prof. Menon, Prof CNR Rao enthused the young budding scientists to come forward with full dedication and devotion for passionately carrying forward their goal of science with innovative ideas.

The gathering was welcomed by Prof. Anurag Kumar, Director, IISc, while Presidential Remark was made by Prof. G. Padamanabhan, President, The National Academy of Sciences that focused on the science and society relationship, and the role of NASI in promoting the culture.

Dr K Kasturirangan, Chairman, Karnataka Knowledge Commission and former Chairman, ISRO, also spoke on this occasion recalling his memories about Prof. Menon as well as his

association with Prof. CNR Rao on many of the important events together during his tenure in space as well as a policymaker.

Dr. Manju Sharma, former Secretary to the Govt. of India, described her active association with Prof. Menon, who guided her in every walk of life. She also expressed about the coherence of thoughts of Prof. Menon and Prof. Rao in building the modern science of India.

Prof. Ashok Misra, Chairperson, NASI- Bangalore Chapter briefly introduced the award and the awardee, after which Prof. Rao delivered the memorable account of his rendezvous with several eminent Indian scientists and foreign counterparts. In the end, Prof. P N Rangranjan, Secretary, NASI- Bangalore Chapter, delivered the vote of thanks.

On the next day, i.e. on 16th Nov. 2019, the NASI also celebrated 100th Birth Anniversary of Dr Vikram Sarabhai, Father of Space Programme in India, at Prof. Satish Dhawan Auditorium of IISc, Bangalore, with Dr K Sivan, Chairman, ISRO as the Chief Guest. Other distinguished scientists also spoke on this auspicious occasion, as Dr B Suresh, Prof. K. Kasturirangan, Prof. Anil Kakodkar, Prof. A S Kiran Kumar, Dr K Radhakrishnan, Prof. Manju Sharma (Coordinator of the programme), Prof. Ashok Misra, Prof. Anurag Kumar, Prof. Ajoy Ghatak, and Prof. P.N. Rangarajan. The speakers paid their tributes to Dr Sarabhai; and highlighted his immense contributions to Indian Science in general and the Space Programme, in particular. Both the functions were attended by several Fellows/Members of the Academy as well as many other scientists, faculty of IISc, NASI Executives Dr Niraj Kumar and Dr Santosh Shukla, and the students of IISC and nearby colleges.