TIFAC to celebrate 33rd Foundation Day

Technology Information, Forecasting and Assessment Council (TIFAC), an autonomous organization of the Department of Science & Technology (DST) will celebrate its 33rd foundation day on February 10, 2010.

Technology visions that TIFAC has offered to the country will be revisited, and luminaries of the Science and Technology establishments in the country will engage in discussions on Vision for India beyond 2020.

TIFAC brought together thousands of academic and industry experts as well as stakeholders from the government and civil societies to build a vision for a developed India under the leadership of former President Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, the then Chairman-TIFAC.

This vision is popularly known as Technology Vision 2020, which was the first mega technology vision exercise in India. Technology Vision 2020 exercise led to a set of 17 documents, including sixteen technology areas and one on services. In more than 25 years of its service to the nation, it has delivered a number of technology assessment and foresight reports.



TIFAC has prepared the Technology Vision 2035, capturing the aspirations of Indians, and this Vision 2035 was released by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi while inaugurating the 103rd Indian Science Congress in Mysuru in 2016. This is being followed currently by release of Technology Roadmaps in 12 thematic areas of national priorities and importance. Therese areas of national priorities and importance include Education, Medical Science & Health Care, Food and Agriculture, Water, Energy, Environment, Habitat, Transportation, Infrastructure, Manufacturing, Materials and Information & Communication Technologies (ICT).

Prof Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, DST, would deliver the keynote address, and the Foundation Day lecture would be delivered by Dr. Y S Rajan, former Executive Director, TIFAC. Scientists from TIFAC would also make some short presentations on the reports of TIFAC.

Technology Vision 2035 has identified 'Making Indian Economy Non-Fossil Fuel Based' as a Grand Challenge, and a panel discussion will be held focusing on this.

The panel discussion would be chaired by Dr. V K Saraswat, Chairman GC, TIFAC and Member, Niti Aayog and the panelists will include Professor Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, DST, Dr. Shekhar S Mande, DG, CSIR and Secretary, CSIR, DR Y S Rajan, former ED, TIFAC, DR P.S.Goel, Professor, NIAS and Santanu Chowdhury, Director, NRSC, Hyderabad.