No. Prn.SA/ADV/SC/2006 Government of India Office of the Principal Scientific Adviser to the Government of India

311, Vigyan Bhawan Annexe, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi 110011 Dated: 11th May, 2006

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: Constitution of Working Group under the Steering Committee on Science on Technology for the Formulation of Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012).

Planning Commission has constituted a Steering Committee on Science and Technology for the Formulation of Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012). To assist the Steering Committee and to finalize its recommendations, a Working Group is being constituted for Department of Science & Technology. The composition and terms of reference of the Working Group would be as follows:

I. Composition

Programme to the

Sr. Name, Designation and Organization No.

1. Secretary, Department of Science & Technology

Chairman

- 2. Prof. M.R.S. Rao, JNCASR, Bangalore
- 3. Prof. M. Vijayan, Honorary Professor/ Distinguished Biotechnologist, IISc., Bangalore
- 4. Ms. Swati Piramal, Nicolas Piramal India Ltd., Mumbai
- 5. Prof. A.K. Sood, IISc., Bangalore
- 7. Dr. T.K. Chandrasekhar, RRL, Trivandrum
- 9. Dr. G. Sundararajan, Director, International Advanced Research Centre. for Powder Metallurgy and New Materials (ARC-I), Hyderabad
- 10. Dr. S. P. Sukhatme, Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, Mumbai
- 11. Dr. Harsh K. Gupta, Former Secretary, Department of Ocean Development
- 12. Dr. V. Sumantran, Former Executive Director, Tata Motors Ltd., Pune.
- 13. Dr. S.K. Joshi, Vikram Sarabhai Professor, NPL, New Delhi
- 14. Dr. Kota Harinarayan, Emeritus Scientist, NAL, Bangalore

- 15 , Dr. A. Patwardhan, TIFAC, Delhi
- 16. Mr. Jayasimha Sriram, Signion Systems Pvt. Ltd., Hyderabad.
- 17. Mr. D. Raghunandan, Centre for Technology Development, Delhi
- 18. Shri H.K.Mittal, Adviser, DST, New Delhi

Member Secretary.

II. Terms of Reference

- To review and assess the progress made by the various Central S&T Departments/ Agencies during the Tenth Five Year Plan identifying the achievements, weaknesses/ shortfalls and gap areas.
- 2. To suggest plans and programmes of the various Central S&T Departments/ Agencies based on the policy, approach, thrust and priorities of the S&T Sector for the Eleventh Five Year Plan taking into consideration the concept of Zero-based budgeting, convergence of various ongoing schemes including weeding out of the schemes which are no longer relevant, and completion of ongoing schemes on a priority basis and also to suggest an optimum outlay for the S&T Sector, comprising, the ongoing commitment and new programmes proposed to be undertaken, keeping in view the overall resource position in the country.
- 3. The Chairman may co-opt members for specific task.
- 4. The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with meetings of this group would be met by the concerned department.
- 5. The report of the Group would be submitted by 15th July, 2006.

(S. Chatterjee)

Adviser

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Chairman, all members and Member Secretary of the Working Group.
- 2. Dr. V.L. Chopra, Member (S&T and Agriculture), Planning Commission, Yojna Bhawan, New Delhi
- 3. Dr. P.K. Biswas, Advisor (S&T), Planning Commission, Room No. 213, Yojana Bhawan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi

(S. Chatterjee)

Adviser