Indian Academy Of Sciences, Bangalore

The Indian Academy of Sciences, aims at promoting the progress and upholding the cause of science in pure and applied branches. Major activities include publication of scientific journals and special volumes, organizing meetings of the Fellowship and discussions on important topics, recognizing scientific talent, improvement of science education and taking up other issues of concern to the scientific community.

The Academy was founded in 1934 by Professor C. V. Raman (Nobel Laureate) and was registered as a Society under the Societies Registration Act, on 24 April 1934. The formal inauguration took place on 31 July 1934 with 65 founding fellows. On the same day, the first general meeting of Fellows was held at which C. V. Raman was elected its President, and the draft constitution of the Academy was approved and adopted. The first issue of the Academy "Proceedings" appeared in two sections in July 1934. Since then, the "Proceedings" were split into theme journals and several new ones added.

The Academy presently has over 800 Fellows, 45 Honorary Fellows and 30 Associates on its role. It is the responsibility of the Fellows of the Academy, to individually and collectively, promote original research and disseminate scientific knowledge to the community, through its meetings, discussions, seminars, symposia and publications.

The Academy recognises the special relationship of scientific creative activity with the process of education and holds that the course of discovery includes the identification and nurturing of scientific talent amongst the young.

   For more information contact:

Executive Secretary
Indian Academy of Sciences
C. V. Raman Avenue
Post Box No. 8005
Sadashivanagar, Bangalore 560 080
Phone: +91-80-2361 2546 / 2361 4592 / 2361 2943
Fax: +91-80-2361 6094
Email: office[at]ias[dot]ernet[dot]in